The Basics

"Chakra" is an east Indian word meaning "wheel".  

There are 7 internal chakras ( in the body). There are more outside of the body - external chakras - but this page with only address the internal chakras.

Following is a list of the Chakras and some corresponding minerals that work with the body corresponding to that Chakra.

The 7 chakras in the body are:

First Chakra - Base or Root:

The First Chakra represents a connection with Mother Earth. It is located at the base of the spine. It's colors are red and black.  Associated stones are not limited but can include:  Azurite, Bloodstone, Chrysocholla, Obsidian, Golden Yellow Topaz, Black Tourmaline, Carnelian Citrine, Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Hematite, Garnet, Clear Quartz


Second Chakra or Sacral Chakra:

The Second Chakra represents creative energy. Fulfillment in this area of the body represents affluence. It is located between the base of the spine and the navel. The primary color is in the orange family but that can vary. Associated stones can include but are not limited to:  Tiger Eye, Clear Quartz, Blue Jasper, Red Jasper, Orange Carnelian, Topaz, Orange Calcite, Citrine.


Third Chakra or Solar Plexus:

The Third Chakra represents and association with the world where our physical and mental bodies meet. It is located above the naval with the primary color family as yellow.  Associated stones can include but are not limited to:  Malachite, Jasper, Tiger’s Eye, Citrine, Yellow Tourmaline, Golden Beryl, Rhodocrosite, Smithsonite, Clear Quartz


Fourth Chakra or Heart:

The Fourth Chakra represents the source of unconditional love. It is located in the center of the body at the level of the heart. The primary associated colors are green and pink.  Associated stones include but are not limited to:  Rose Quartz, Green Quartz, Aventurine, Kunzite, Variscite, Muscovite, Red Calcite, Rhodonite, Watermelon Tourmaline, Pink Tourmaline, Green tourmaline, Peridot, Apopphyllite, Petalite, Morganite, Green Quartz, Pink Danburite, Ruby, Chrysocholla, Green Sapphire, Jade, Chrysoprase, Watermelon Tourmaline, Rhodocrosite, Eudialyte, Clear Quartz.


Fifth Chakra or Throat:

The Fifth Chakra represents communication and has a direct connect with the nervous system and endocrine system. The location is at the throat and the representative color is blue.  Associated stones include but are not limited to:  Azurite, Turquoise, Amethyst, Aquamarine, Blue Topaz, blue Tourmaline, Amber, Kunzite, Amethyst, Lepidolite, Blue Obsidian, Petalite, Clear Quartz


Sixth Chakra or Brow/Third Eye:

The Sixth Chakra represents our insight and deeper understanding through what we perceive. It is located at the center of the forehead and is represented by Indigo and dark blues, purples.

Apophyllite, Sodalite, Moldavite, Azurite, Herkimer Diamond, Lapis Lazuli, Garnet, Purple Fluorite, Kunzite, Lepidolite, Malachite with Azurite, Royal Sapphire, Electric blue Obsidian, Azeztulite, Atacamite, Moonstone, Clear Quartz

Seventh Chakra or Crown:

The Seventh Chakra represents the source of our thoughts and our conscious and unconscious minds, our beliefs and our dreams. It is located at the top of the head and is represented by the color purple largely but has many other mineral connections.

Moldavite, Amethyst, Moonstone, Fluorite, Citrine, Quartz, Red Serpentine, Purple Jasper, Clear Tourmaline, Golden Beryl, Lepidolite Purple Sapphire, Celestite, Selenite, Petalite, Azeztulite, Phenacite, Clear Quartz